This post is going to be for a three week period as schools in Australia are on Easter break soon. The next official post will be on Sunday 19th April. I will do a fun post in between with some great sites to visit.

But our topic this week is favourites.  This will give you a fantastic choice for posts.

It will also mean you might get your post(s) added to the Flipboard magazine if your post includes:

  1. at least three paragraphs if you are 11 or older; two paragraphs if younger than that
  2. an image or video or music with correct attribution
  3. a title that grabs the attention of the readers
  4. at least one link to another website so readers can build on the information you have written
  5. a question for readers to answer

Try to use some new tools mentioned in the sidebar of the challenge blog. Leave a comment on this post if there are some tools you use often that I should be adding there. Tell me if it is a web tool or an app so I can separate the lists.

 

Remember I only know if you have completed a post, if you come back here and leave me a comment with a link to your post. Take note of the difference here:

URL of blog: https://studentchallenge.edublogs.org/

I have to search to find your post especially if I want to use as an example next set of challenges.

 

URL of post: https://studentchallenge.edublogs.org/2015/03/22/week-4-lets-join-globally/

This takes me straight to the post – you might need to wait until your teacher has moderated your post before leaving the comment on my challenge blog.

 

Many older students don’t have mentors but would love some visitors. So I am highlighting some class blogs that have lists of student blogs in their sidebars. Please take the time to visit and leave comments on both the class and student blogs. This is thanks to Madeline who left me a comment about this.

15-17 year olds – Mrs Maslowski, Ms Garber, Ms Burton, Ms Pederson (Honduras-students in comments), Mr Puley‘s authors, Mr Mark from Kuwait,

12-14 year olds – Wordswork, Mrs Donofrio, Ms Hoke, Ms Chernaya from Russia, Mrs Hogg from New Zealand, Ms Little only joined this week, Ms Rauser

 

Great posts from previous weeks

Ms Woods class have their own flipboard magazine

Mr Helpern’s class have created some great guess the celebrations and international events and remembered to give correct attribution for the images they used

Bryce commented on some international blogs.

Jackie wrote a great post about free rice but it wont flip into the magazine, so visit from this link.

Other great posts are now being flipped into the 2015 magazine so you will need to check it out from the challenge blog sidebar.

65 thoughts on “Week 5: Favourites

  1. Hi I am Michaela form Illinois and I don’t know if you will get this comment but I would love it if you could go and look at my favorite things post and critic me and maybe tell me what I can do better. If you have the time I would love that! Thanks. http://michaela02.edublogs.org/

  2. I had an awesome spring break and I hope you did to. I also had fun doing my blog post come visit it <a href= "http":\\http://helpernshelpers.edublogs.org/2015/04/15/week-5-the-amazing-xbox-1/

  3. Hey guys I have a post that i want to share about my favourite author. He wrights sbout mythology please check my post at

  4. Hobbies
    Posted on April 14, 2015

    (Badminton) : I like to play badminton. We use a racket and a plastic ball. When I play with my brother we usually argue in the middle of the game.
    Another game I like is the one I describe here : There is a table with holes and we hit many balls with a stick towards the holes. (Billard from Wikipedia : http://fr.wiktionary.org. This is a web tool)
    Pool : You hit the white ball with a stick that hits other balls in the holes.
    I like poetry too. Today I am telling you about this one :
    « I am Reginald Clark. I am afraid of the dark. »

    This is the story I like in the the book (NannyMcPhee and the Big Bang) :
    It is about a magical nanny who has a magical stick. She teaches 5 lessons.
    When the children learn a lesson as they are very, very naughty, one of the pieces that make her look bad (old tooth, wrinkles, worts, …) disapear.
    One day the father went to fight a war and after a few months, they started to get worried. They had a telegram saying that their dad was missing.
    Our post is about some of our hobbies. Now, it’s your turn to tell if you have any hobbies ?
    THE followin media was taken by the school staff.
    IMG_4991

    1. G’day Clara,
      My name is Miss W. Glad you are doing some of the challenge activities. Make sure you include the challenge badge on your sidebar and start visiting all the other students taking part in the challenge. There is no award in the challenge, just the badge you can use on your blog. The idea of the challenge is to improve your blogging skills and make connections with other students around the world.

  5. Hi Miss W!
    I wrote a post about my favorite thing to do in school!
    I hope you will come check it out!
    Bye,
    Jennifer ♥

  6. Hi Mrs. W! I completed this week’s challenge; here is my blog! 2014sasha.edublogs.org

  7. The Problem In Cars

    If I were to tell you one electric car polluted 15.27 lbs per day, would you say I was crazy? If the world went electric, you would only save about 1/4 of the world pollution.

    Many people believe that gas and diesel powered cars are bad for the environment, and they’re right. But electric cars also pollute the world. You may think you are using a clean and renewable resource, but your not.

    Where do you think that electricity comes from, surely it can’t all come from solar panels and wind turbines? The answer is, it doesn’t. It comes from gas and oil powered plants that polite the air more than cars do, think about it, if every household has two cars, that’s about 40.8 lbs per gallon, and every car uses about 9 gallons a day so that’s 367.2 lbs of pollution per day!

    Cleaner and Greener

    Micheal Blue Jay

    Enotes

    EIA

    UCSUSA

    Check out my blog for the full article at
    http://j22ah15.edublogs.com

  8. Thanks for the inspiration, Miss W. and Ms. Woods, I have just created a fliboard magazine to share “Blogs Worth Reading” each week during the challenge! I’ve been wanting to do this for some time, but finally decided to give it a try after seeing Ms. Woods and her class create their own.

  9. Dear Mrs.W, I was selected as a blog worth reading the week before this. My post included a picture of a deer and a poem about it. I would love it if you were to see my post. You can view my blog at: colby1am.edublogs.org

  10. Hi Miss W,

    I noticed that the next official post will be on April 19th due to Easter Break. Are there specific activities for the (three week) Week 5 Challenge? I saw that there are specific instructions for getting their posts into the magazine including the use of web tools listed in the sidebar. Are they supposed to try them and then blog about which one is their favorite? Thank you.

    -Mr. Helpern
    Helpern’s Helpers

    1. G’day Mr Helpern,
      This challenge for week 5 allows students to choose any favourite – maybe TV show, book, video game, hobby, colour – the list goes on. Write a really interesting post about it. They might like to write more than one post for the week, but try and use some of the different tools if possible.

      1. Hi Miss W,

        Thank you for the reply. That’s how I interpreted the challenge, but I wasn’t quite sure. I will be encouraging my students to try the different tools in order to enhance their writing. I also wanted to share a tool that we have used. The app is called croak.it and they also have a website. It allows you to record a 30 second sound byte and then share it on the web.

        Mr. Helpern
        Helpern’s Helpers

  11. Hello, I read this post and I know that I have posted all of my good writing on my blog. Since I don’t know which one to choose, I will post the links to a few of my favorites.
    -Scotty Blog URL http://j4ah15.edublogs.org
    Joshua Tree Day 1
    http://j4ah15.edublogs.org/2015/03/24/joshua-tree-day-1/

    Life in Assyria
    http://j4ah15.edublogs.org/2015/03/16/life-in-assyria/

    The Adventure
    http://j4ah15.edublogs.org/2015/03/13/the-adventure-a-survival-story-of-iain-jack-and-jaiden/

    1. Hey Miss W,
      I written a post on plastic pollution affecting sea critters :(. It’s just so sad how badly they’re affected, so I would like to raise awareness! Can you imagine how many people would read my post and think… MAYBE I SHOULD ACT AND, oh- enough about me! Come check out my blog at:
      http://b14ah15.edublogs.org/
      🐠🐟🐬🐳🐚🐙🐋⭐️

  12. Week four
    Posted on March 22, 2015
    I played ‘Free Rice’, It is instructive and challenging. It improves writing skill.
    List of international events we have taken part in since 2014 :

    New Year’s Eve that is a birthday date in my family, most members shared a cake from one of our finest pastry shops as we still keep improving western pastry art under french influence. They are our masters. Last year, in the TV show ‘Le meilleur patissier’ Abdel Krim was among the finalists.
    You can see our post about YENAYER the North African new year since Egyptian civilization. The main dish is chicken. It is eaten with many local dishes and what is saved throughout the year for that celcebration.
    March is Women month in the world. In Algeria, workers leave work in the afternoon of the 8th and we had roses with a small Berber colorful potery. There was music, traditional dancing, pastry, drinks and a better meal at the school dining room. The parliament passed new rules protecting our rights.

    j1ah15.edublogs.org

    It is spring vacation in Algeria. I think it is a routine we kept after independence from French chrisrian Easter break custom.
    The weather in Algiers is Mediteranean, and California as we learned in geography has got the same climate. Boys spend their spare time in El Ketani beach. They can swim even if it seems to be too crowded by the capital city inhabitants.
    Our country is not as famous as our neighboors for tourism because it relies on other revenues and investments neglecting that side of local wealth, nevertheless, it has nothing to envy to others. Ourselves are amazed when we guide foreigners in picnics to the beach, as our people are as warm as any mediteraneans.
    It means our blogs have to share these experiences.
    Coming to the name of our blog, it is related to the diverse landscapes you can discover when you cross Algeria. There are two series of mountains:
    1.Atlas in the north,
    2.and ‘Sahraoui Atlas’ that separates the Grand Sahara from northern snowy mountains.
    What is ‘ukulele’?
    The traditional musical instrument is ‘Kouitra’ and the more known Oud in local music. They have somehow, the shape of guitars.

    j4ah15.edublogs.org
    Thank you for your comment. We checked your blog. It seems that your read a lot. You have long sumaries of your chapters. Your culture is rich while many of us discovered Assyria with you. We hope to deepen our knowledge through our exchanges.
    class blog //blogs.goaj.org/amoore/,
    Thank you for the compliment on the post. We like that little trip. We checked your blog. Me and Frank like your students. They are cute. They seem quiet.
    We usually use a lot of words to tell about images. You can see our exposition in the waiting room of the school. We invited friends and family.
    Xander likes reading Shel Silverstein’s poems. He selected ‘ICKLE ME, PICKLE ME, TICKLE ME TOO’ to share it. The title is the refrain throughout foor 4 parts. It is a nice story he retold in prose in the classroom.
    Moreover he wrote a follow up to ‘THE LOSER’.
    Now we invite our readers to comment with some verses.
    Xander and Mohamed are selling in our classroom. They learn counting and the use of money and foreign currencies.
    We are selling lots of stuff. It is a role play organized by our teachers.
    Frank and Eli are practicing the previous role play and they are using lego in the dining room.
    Our images when they are not the school’s pictures are taken from ‘google’.
    Another pupil in our class is Frank. His passion is drawing.
    Our project deals with pollution. Is it good to protect environment ?
    Please blog friends, reply using : Yes or No.
    In our school the pupils are from international background like South Africa, Spain, England, USA, Turkey, France, Algeria, Congo, and Cheque Republic….
    We choose this blog : blogs.goaj.org/amoore/ to have exchanges about our learnings.
    We want also to ask questions about China.
    First, Where is China situated?
    Second, what is its capital city ?

    bsgyear6.edublogs.org
    We posted these question in previous posts hoping to get replies through the challenge Twitter. This week we try again directly to you.
    First, Where is China situated ?
    Second, what is its capital city ?
    We were amazed to discover that your class is like ours during the Reading Five sessions that are creating most of our posts.
    Here is our blog:

    grandatlas.edublogs.org

    mrmarkabs.edublogs.org/
    We choose to send a comment to you because you are the only Arab country blog we found on the classes’ list.
    You should understand the posts in Arabic we publish.
    Your post is instructive and widely literate. It is difficult for 9 years old of our class.

    http://www.desstination.edublogs.org
    In Algeria it is celebrated in May. May be it is French influence again.
    Here is our blog:

    grandatlas.edublogs.org

    The special event from my country is Eid Sghir. It is the end of fasting month. Many cookies are prepared during weeks. They are displayed in all tables. Kids are beautiful and playful. They shop a lot because they get an amount of money as a gift during the visits to family memebers.
    directinfo.webmanagercenter.com680 × 350
    One of our posts deals with Eid. This website in French contains some information :
    http://www.africamission-mafr.org/aidelfitr.htm

    Five international blogs :

    http://www.desstination.edublogs.org
    /bsgyear6.edublogs.org
    class blog //blogs.goaj.org/amoore/, blogs.goaj.org/amoore/
    j4ah15.edublogs.org
    kidblog.org/Grade3superstars/login

    These previous are the activities we could do except activities 4 and 5. The post is on our blog:

    grandatlas.edublogs.org

  13. Don’t forget the NZ schools. We also ave our Easter break followed by a fortnight’s holiday.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *