Blogging Comments

Jabiz Raisdana via Compfight

Scotty has a blogging goal and this week’s activity could help him achieve it.

I am not sure how many of you have been out and about visiting other blogs and leaving quality comments. But that is the idea of this week’s game.

Before you start, please make sure you have at least 5 other student blogs linked on the sidebar of your blog or in a recent post that your visitors can find easily. Make sure these are blogs from other students around the world, not just those in your class or school. Perhaps have a blogroll or link category called Global students or Global classes. Here is how to add a blogroll if using Edublogs or Blogger. If using Kidblog write a post mentioning at least 5 great blogs you enjoy visiting.

Game week is all about visiting other blogs.

Student and class blogs – new bloggers and old hands at the blogging – mentors as well as participants.

Remember one of  the main aims of blogging includes commenting and carrying on conversations with the author of posts and their other readers.

A good commenter will have:

  • read the post carefully,
  • checked out the links in the post
  • read the previous comments before they leave one of their own
  • added to the conversation with a quality comment – remember that video from Mrs Yollis’ class.

Game rules

This is a game we have run for many challenges and allows you to connect globally.

Those who have taken part in a challenge before know the game of  ‘Count Out Three’. Here are the instructions:

  • click on a blog on the student list or class list– count one
  • now click on a blog from their blogroll – count two
  • finally click on a blog from that blogroll – count three

Leave a comment on an interesting post at this third blog. Remember to include the URL of your blog, so that person can visit you as well.

Teachers: If you are moderating student comments, please make sure you are up-to-date with that this week as students can be very disappointed when they think they have no comments, yet many are in the moderation queue ready to be published.

Students: Make sure you are also replying to any comments that have been left for you.

Do this activity at least three times and finally, write your own post saying which blogs you visited and which posts you left a comment on. Why did you choose that post? Remember to include a link back to the post you left a comment on.

Get to it – start visiting and leaving quality comments that show you have read the post. 

How many quality comments could you leave this week? Can you leave 10, 20 or maybe 50?

Write a post about the commenting you have done this week or throughout the challenge so far.

  • What have you enjoyed about commenting?
  • What is annoying about commenting?
  • How have you found interesting posts to comment on?
  • Are your posts getting lots of quality comments? Why or why not?

Create a list of great comment starters to help new students to blogging. There are some lists on the web but try to create your own. Here are a couple of examples from Anne Davis:

  •  Another thing to consider is…….
  • I can relate to this…….
  • This makes me think of…….

Write a post then write 5 great comments as part of the post – use some interesting comment starters for each comment.

 

Here are some posts from last week that couldn’t be flipped:

Maddy writes about dogs, Brooke wrote about crazy cookies, Clara has a dessert island,

Visit the students on the sidebar of Mrs Maslowski’s class blog,

18 thoughts on “Week 7: Let’s play a game

  1. Hello again Mrs. W!
    I have finished the challenge for week #7, in the 2015 blogging challenge, Count Out Three. I commented on three unique blogs that I found on my further exploration in to the blogging challenge. 😉 I hope you have the time to come see my post and the amazing blogs that I got the chance to comment on. http://jazzy2am.edublogs.org/2015/05/03/count-out-three-2/
    Talk to you next week!
    ~Jazzy 😀

    1. Hi Jennifer,
      I added two of your posts to the flipboard magazine this week. They were about commenting and conversations. Great work!

  2. My Name is yohid I would really like people from other country’s and maybe even Mrs.W to comment on my Blog I would really appreciate it! Thanks for all the cool web tools to use in your sidebar. I am anxious to try these out. Thank you also for all your help with the Student Blogging Challenge. Really effective content and thanks a lot for sharing with us. I also would like to share with you one more site who has best collection about ios games and that is http://www.riseuplabs.com

    1. Yohid,
      I would love to visit your personal blog but you didn’t leave the URL. I visited the link you included and they look like some great games.

  3. Thank you for encouraging others to check out my students’ blog posts http://mrsmaslowski.edublogs.org/

    My students love getting comments and I enjoy reading their posts!

    Thanks so much for all the great ideas. Keep blogging and commenting!

  4. Thanks for all the cool web tools to use in your sidebar. I am anxious to try these out. Thank you also for all your help with the Student Blogging Challenge. My students always look forward to Tuesdays, the day we have time in the computer lab to blog!
    ~Mrs. Donofrio

  5. Dear Miss. W,
    Thank you so much for mentioning me on this post. Hopefully this will make me have lots of traffic on my blog. I recently got an award in my school for communicating with lots of other people in blogging. I will keep commenting on other blogs as much as I will probaly will meet lots of people.
    Thank you,
    Scotty http://j4ah15.edublogs.org

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *