Shiny, Capt.

Ken-ichi Ueda via Compfight

This is our penultimate week in the blogging challenge.

When you come to the end of a topic, what does your teacher often do?

  • That’s right! They give you a test.

This week’s challenge is a test about your blogging skills.

Having read many of your posts, I came up with the following essentials in a great post.

  1. catchy title
  2. includes at least two visuals whether photo, cartoon, video or another web 2.0 tool like padlet, glogster, wordle etc
  3. interesting topic with the passion of the author coming through, shows well researched topic
  4. well written and not copy/pasted from somewhere else
  5. shows it has been proofread and spellchecked
  6. written in paragraphs – at least three of them
  7. includes links to other websites on similar topics – at least two of these
  8. attribution for any images, video, music or clip art used – including those used in slideshows etc

Here are some examples of posts from a previous challenge:

When you have finished your post, please come back here to the blogging challenge and leave a comment on this post.

So what will the topic be for you to blog about?

ANIMALS     ANIMALS     ANIMALS     ANIMALS

Favourites

Problems like poaching, cruelty, extinction

Anything to do with animals

Make sure you check hints 2, 7 and 8 in the essentials of a great post

Still got time left this week:

  1. Visit Namitha to add some words of help for people in Nepal or write your own post sending words to Nepal.
  2. Keep visiting other student and class blogs to leave comments and continue conversations.
  3. Check out the Flipboard magazine to see if your post is mentioned there and visit some of their blogs
  4. Leave links to your posts on the student blogging challenge blog posts so Miss W can visit and leave comments or flip your posts to the magazine.
  5. Go to the Free Rice site to play games to help donate rice, some of which is going to Nepal

67 thoughts on “Week 9: Let’s shine

  1. Hi Ms W
    Being part of the student blogging challenge is good for people to talk to other people in the the world.

  2. Hey Miss W.
    I wrote a really cool post on turtles for Week #9 about turtles!! I was just wondering if you would want to check it out!! Thanks for being so amazing!!
    -Erica

  3. Hi Miss W.
    Um…. I don’t understand what we write about for week 9 so if you could explain that a little better to me that would be really nice because people haven’t been explaining things all too well at my school. You can find me at http://izek6pm.edublogs.org/ Thank you. You are super nice! 🙂

  4. I’m very proud of how much my students have learned about blogging in a short time. They are developing their writing and sharing their opinions. This week they shared interesting facts about animals.

    Adriana drew some great pictures of Koalas and shared why they are her favorite animal.
    Annalize shared her Sea World experience and why she is impressed by Orcas or Killer Whales.
    Seth shared the difference between two toed and three toed sloths and found some helpful videos.
    Yashar made a Thinglink sharing what he learned about mice.

    Please come read their posts and tell them what you think.

    Sincerely,
    Mr. Helpern
    Helpern’s Helpers

  5. Hi miss. W! I would really appreciate it if you would visit my blog, and look at my post for this week. I did 2 different post, so I will leave you the link to my blogg. Have a great day, and happy blogging!
    -Sabine
    http://sabine110gst.edublogs.org/

  6. Topic: Things we Love to Do

    A challengers’ poster we like to share with our readers.

    I like Harry Potter and many other books. I use books and Internet for spellchecking.
    It has wizards and witches. They have a game with flying balls and broomsticks. It is set in HOGWARTS. There are still dragons that are not extinct. And, cats and dogs live peacefully. They should not face the same cruel end.

    Wordle is used here to write a text. You can visit the link to create your text clouds.

    Solar too is used for watching any Harry Potter movie you want. Check it online and spend a good time.

  7. Hi Ms W! I have a question regarding this challenge. You can’t find my blog on the student list. I’m in a class. Is there a way I can get people to come too my blog? I have only 7 visitors from Canada and it turns out 2 of them are my teacher while the 5 are me. Also can you visit my blog at willowill205.edublogs.org?

  8. Hi Miss W,
    Thank you so much for featuring me in the post. I was really surprised on the amount of comments I have been getting lately, from determined bloggers. It really does break my heart on the amount of destruction there is in Nepal. I hope that the student bloggers are doing good in the challenge!

    -Namitha
    http://namithasreadtosucceed.edublogs.org

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *