Photo Series: Lego @work: "Our family thanks you"

Ken Whytock via Compfight

Thank you all very much for taking part in this ten week blogging journey with me. As something comes to an end, we usually reflect back on what we have learnt, what we will change next time and so on. So this is what the activities will be about this week.

I would like to thank the commenters for taking time to visit and comment on student blogs. I would also like to thank those bloggers who allowed me to use their blog posts as examples in the challenge.

Over the past ten weeks, you have learnt so many skills to help you improve your blogs. Many of you have improved those writing skills or maybe digital skills with using a variety of tools to embed on your blog. But it is now time to evaluate your progress as well as the progress of the blogging challenge itself.

This week there are two things to do:

  1. Evaluate your own blog
  2. Evaluate the actual blogging challenge

1. This is an audit of your blog since the beginning of March 2018.

  • How many posts did you write? How many were school based, your own interests or set by the challenge? How could you improve your posts in future?
  • How many comments did you receive from classmates, teachers, commenters from #stubc or overseas students? Which post received the most comments? Why do you think that happened?
  • How many other blogs (roughly) did you visit and comment on a post? Why choose that post?
  • Which post did you enjoy writing the most and why?
  • Did you change blog themes at all and why?
  • How many widgets do you have? Do you think this is too many or not enough?
  • How many overseas students do you have on your blogroll?
  • Which web tools did you use to show creativity on your blog?

Now ask another student and teacher/parent from your school who might not have read your blog to do an audit.

Sit beside them while they navigate around your blog, record what you observe as they interact with your blog. When finished, ask them the following questions:

  1. What were your first impressions of this blog?
  2. What captured your attention?
  3. What distracted you on the blog?
  4. What suggestions can you give me to improve my blog?

Write a post about your blog audit.

2. Evaluating the challenge.

I would like you to leave a quality comment giving your opinion of the challenge. You might want to mention some of the following things:

  • the most interesting challenge for you
  • how often you visited other blogs and left comments
  • whether you read the challenge flipboard magazine (97 stories so far)
  • whether you left your post URL weekly on the google form
  • a PMI or plus/minus/interesting point about the challenge
  • the most important thing you learnt while doing the challenge
  • did you use the challenge sidebar to find posts by other students
  • something about the statistics below

Some statistics from this challenge:

  • 964 students aged 8-56 registered for this challenge under 54 different teacher names
  • 78 class blogs were registered with 54 of them having student blogs attached to their sidebar
  • 22 countries represented by students who registered
  • 12 countries represented by class blogs of which 6 were not mentioned on student list

Number of post URLs left each week via the Google form for commenters to visit:

  • Avatars: 366
  • Commenting: 181
  • Images: 120
  • Global issues: 92
  • Free choice: 23 left on blog
  • Quotes: 171
  • Visiting: 31
  • Games: 36
  • My Best: 70

Thanks again for taking part in this challenge. Hopefully you will join me again in October this year. If you have taken part in at least two sets of challenges, you can also become a commentor, so watch out for the commentor post in late September.

Keep writing, keep reading the magazine, and if you have a great post you would like me to add to the magazine over the summer/winter break, feel free to leave a comment here. No Google form to fill in this week. Leave comment here on the post instead.

35 thoughts on “Week 10: End of journey

  1. Hi, Miss W, it’s Hmsdavid And I am commenting on the challenge for this week. So The most interesting challenge for me was the theme for this new school year because It’s so much more different than last years. How often I left comments or visited other blogs I visit other blogs and comment often. I don’t read the Flipboard unless people from my school are on there. And that’s it thanks.

  2. Miss W, I love the idea of an audit from time to time. Brilliant. Because reviewing my blog and eBook helps me get clearer and clearer on my direction. Works like a charm. But you need to be honest and persistent in auditing your blog from time to time.

  3. Hey Ms.W,

    This years student blogging challenge was great! I enjoyed writing all of the blogging challenge quotes. I hope to do the challenge next year an hope others do to. Please visit my blog at http://humza8b.edublogs.org/

  4. Dear Miss W,

    Thank you for this amazing journey; I have enjoyed every bit of it. 

    I think for me Global issues week 4 was the most interesting challenge because I learnt so much and enjoyed myself too. 

    I don’t think I visited other people’s blogs that often, apart from when the challenges included visiting them, but when I did, I ended up with lots more comments on my blog as well. 

    I don’t believe I read the challenge flip board as I didn’t know where to find it. 

    I do regret not leaving my post URL weekly but mostly I forgot to. I think I only added my post URL in the challenge Avatars for week 1. 

    I think the most important thing I learnt during the challenge was DON’T POST YOUR SURNAME AND HOME ADDRESS! This was, and still is, definitely important as they are your personal details. 

    I have included my analysed statistics on my blog post which you can review through the URL below. 
    http://liliannaw618.edublogs.org/2018/05/29/last-blogging-challenge-ever%E2%80%AF/

    Kind Regards,
    Lilianna

  5. Hello Mrs W,

    To say the least, this challenge was a delight! I absolutely loved it! I have to say, my favourite challenge was the Quotes challenge. This not only made me write some of my favourite quotes, it also lead me to read some more information on Nelson Mandela. In my spare time, I loved to visit other people’s blog but now I don’t as I don’t have much spare time. I’ve read some magazines from the flipboard but I never really knew how to use it. I believe I did submit every week but not always on time (excluding this one). An interesting point for me is that this challenge reached out to a lot of countries in the world and it’s amazing how one simple challenge can lead to so many conversations and facts. The most important thing I learnt from this experience is to get a comment, you have to make the first move. One thing about the statistics is that I realised it say 9-56 year olds, I din’t know 56 year old students were in this challenge! I would love to visit their blogs. This is my first year of blogging/using edublogs and thanks to the sbc, I learnt so much and I hope I can participate next year! 😀

    Happy blogging,
    Figgy xox

    p.s. link to blog 🙂 http://fengfanw618.edublogs.org/

  6. Hi Ms W,
    I really enjoyed this challenge and I thought it was a creative way to encourage people to communicate with other people other then from my own country. And it was also a good because I have never experienced something quite like this and I definitely you should do it again next year.

    If you want to come see my blog the URL

    marjiw618.edublogs.org

  7. Dear Mrs. W,
    I really enjoyed the challenge that you have set up this year. This is my first time using Edublog, so thank you for setting this up so I can learn how to blog more. I enjoyed doing the Free Choice and My Best, they were my favorite activities. Thank you for setting up this challenge, it was tons of fun! I learned a lot about how to blog, which helped me so that I know for later. I hope to be able to do the October Student Blogging Challenge to learn more. I was surprised at how little people posted later on, which explains why I went to blogs and didn’t see much. I hope that the October challenge will get a higher ratio of participating to Google Forms being submitted.
    Overall, I really enjoyed this challenge! I had lots of fun, and I even got one of my posts in the Flipboard magazine, which got me super excited.
    Thank you, Mrs. W, for making this challenge happen. I hope to be able to participate in October!
    Feel free to visit my blog at http://benk1234.edublogs.org/
    Thanks a lot!
    From,
    Ben

  8. Hi Mrs. W,
    This session of SBC has been a journey! I had a lot of fun doing all of the activities. I keep on wanting to post posts on Edublogs and it keeps me on edge when I read other people’s posts. On this session of SBC, my favorite activity was the bucket list one because I had the freedom to express what I want to do with my future. I visited a lot of interesting blogs and I want to keep up to date with some bloggers. I read one of the posts on the Flipboard because it was one of my classmate’s posts and I was so excited to read it. Some plus things about this session were the fun and mixed activities we did during this session of SBC. On the other side, some things that were negative was the long commenting challenges because I have to stay up late to complete the challenge(or I just procrastinate). Some things I learned to do during this session of SBC, was how to format my posts and how to make my posts look more interesting. I used the sidebar multiple times and I find it very helpful and it makes thing soo much easier when we do the long commenting activities. This session of SBC has been really fun and I can’t wait for the next time! Come check out my blog. I think I improved my blogging skills and I hope you can give me a couple of tips for blogging so that maybe I can be on the Flipboard.

    Cheers!

    -hmsskylar

  9. Hey Ms. W
    Thanks for making the SBC challenges so much fun! the most interesting challenge for me was week seven because for one of the activities I got to express my personal opinion on a topic. I visited other peoples blog maybe once a week but I haven’t been keeping up with the Flipboard magazine. I didn’t leave my post URL in the google form. In my opinion, a plus for the challenges would be they are all unique and fun to do. A minus for some of them is there are a lot of things to do. The most important thing I learned while doing the challenges is not to procrastinate because if you do you’ll fall behind.
    From,
    Reise

  10. Dear Ms.W,

    I really enjoyed a lot about this year’s challenges. The most interesting was challenge Week 8. I try to leave a few comments on people’s blogs, but I am not as active on Flipboard, but I wish to in the future. I didn’t leave a URL weekly on google form. A plus about the challenges is that they change but are still the same amount of fun. The most important thing I learned doing these is how creative people are. I didn’t use the challenge sidebar to find posts but I might in the future. Thank you for making these challenges and congratulations on ten years!

    Keep up the good work!

    Chad

  11. Aye Ms.W,

    I liked this challenge that most because it reviews all the past challenges and I just like to look back and think, “that’s what I did back then?” The only time I visited other blogs and left comments was when I had to for the Student Blogging Challenge so I could get a good grade for class. I have no idea what the Flipboard Magazine is so in case you haven’t figured it out yet I haven’t read it.

    I also have no idea what the so called “Google Form” is so I haven’t left a URL on the form. I thought that looking for blogs to comment on were interesting because the hobbies displayed on the list didn’t have anything to with their blog at all so I had a hard time but it was funny to see what they wrote for their hobbies.

    The most important thing I think I learned from these challenges is how to use Edublogs. I didn’t use the sidebar because all the blogs that I visited didn’t even have one.

  12. Hello Ms. W,

    The most interesting part of the challenge for me was the Flipboard commenting challenge. I visited blogs pretty often after the commenting challenge. I’ve read some Flipboard magazine posts, and they were really interesting! I left my URL weekly in the form. I think that the new challenges were really good. The most important thing that I learned from the challenge was that commenting on other people’s blogs is important to get comments. I did use the challenge sidebar.

    I hope we do SBC again next year! ^-^

    From,

    Hmsskye

  13. Hey Ms.W,
    I had a really fun time doing this years Student Blogging Challenge. The most intresting challenge for me was the Free Choice one because I go to talk about something I loved and when reading other people’s posts on the activity made me learn a lot about them. I didn’t often comment on other people’s blogs but I did look at other peoples blogs when I had some time on my hands. I did check out the Flipboard magazine from time to time. I did like checking there out I was able to find a lot of great posts and blogs on there. I did not leave my url weekly on the google form and a plus about the challenge was that I got to find out more about things I never knew and I learned more about my own hobbies as well. The most important thing I learned from doing the challenged is how to blog. Before I was never sure of what you could and couldn’t do with your blog and now I have a basic understanding which is really useful. I did use the challenger side bar to find posts by other students from time to time. Thank you for always putting so much effort into these activities and I had a great time doing them.
    From,
    Mina

  14. Hello Mrs. W,

    I really enjoyed this year SBC even though it was similar to the one last year, but now I am not complaining and I never will. I’m implying that even though they were similar it allowed me to explore different opportunities in writing posts. Taking the task at hand and creating something new and not repeating the same thing again. I would say that SBC week# 4 was personally my favorite. It opened up an opportunity to write about different global issues which allow me to express my thoughts about them and a possible explanation. I always look forward to it, because these issues are extremely important and should be fixed in the best way possible. Sadly I don’t visit other people’s blogs much, but when I do I am very amazed at what others write. I don’t check the Flip board much but when my teacher displays it to our class. I’m very happy to see my classmates on it. I have not actually checked out the google form but its something I should start doing. I think the plus about SBC is the whole point of it. We are assigned multiple challenges to complete in the most creative way possible, which is fun to do. Minus would be.. well I actually can think of one. Interesting? The people who express themselves on this platform. The most important thing would be to read others posts. Because time and effort had been put into these posts and they should all be appreciated. Finally, I believe I had used the challenge sidebar at some point in time. Thank you for allowing us to express ourselves on this wonderful platform. EduBlogs.

    From, Brady

  15. Hi Mrs. W,

    The most interesting challenge for me was SBC Week 9 because we had creative freedom and that allowed us to work to the best of our abilities. I didn’t visit too many blogs and comment or read the Flipboard Magazine. I didn’t leave a URL on the google form. A plus about the challenge is that the activities are fun. A minus is sometimes they get repetitive. The most important thing I learned is how to properly attribute things like photos and such. Thank you.

  16. Dear Mrs. W,
    Thank You so much for making such great and different challenges every week. I enjoyed doing most of the challenges because it made talk to other people that I usually wouldn’t have talked to. The challenged I enjoyed the most was doing the picture sentences one. I only visit other people’s blog if they tell me to. So I rarely see other people’s blogs. I never leave comments because I am too lazy. So I am a really bad blogger as you can tell. I don’t read the Flipboard Magazines even though people tell me it’s good. A lot of my classmates are up there. The most important thing I learned from your challenges is to write from your heart and write something about stuff like. No, I didn’t use the challenge sidebar to find people. Thank You so much for making such good challenges every week for us to do. I hope you keep doing the challenges.

    From, hmscaden

  17. Hello Ms. W,
    The Student Blogging Challenge was really good! I found Week 6: Quotes the most interesting. I really liked that challenge because quotes are very inspiring and you can remember it for life. I visit and sometimes comment on other blogs once every two weeks. I didn’t read the Flipboard magazine, use the sidebar to find other students nor did I leave my post URL on the Google Form, unfortunately. I found the challenge as a great way in order to improve my blogging skills. Even though the challenge did require a lot of work, I still found it to be awesome. The challenge made me realize about my community and the world around me. The most important thing I learned about doing the challenge was being aware of what I do and say when going online and communicating with other people. Thank you so much for the wonderful challenge. I hope you do another one next time!
    Sincerely,
    Kira

  18. Hi Mrs.W,
    I really enjoyed this years’ SBC!!
    the most interesting challenge for you? The most interesting challenge for me was week 6. I liked it because I love quotes and I liked that we got to create our own.
    how often did you visit other blogs and left comments? I didn’t visit other bloggers blogs as much as I wanted to this year, but I know that it is something that I want to improve on.
    whether you read the challenge Flipboard magazine (97 stories so far)? No, I didn’t read the Flipboard magazine that much this year but I did read the posts from week 8’s activities.
    a PMI or plus/minus/interesting point about the challenge? A plus to these challenges is that I helps to improve my writhing skills, a minus to these challenges is that sometimes the posts require some URLs or pictures that are hard to find. An interesting point to these challenges is that every week is different from the previous one. the most important thing you learned while doing the challenge? The most important thing I learned was that to get comments you have to comment on others blogs.
    did you use the challenge sidebar to find posts by other students? Yes, I did look at the sidebar.
    Thank you!
    From,
    hmsallyson

  19. Hello, Ms W,

    Thank you very much for making this year’s Student Blogging Challenge a blast! I really enjoyed it. I forgot what week it was, but it was the one where you had to write a guide on something. I wrote about one of my favourite games Minecraft. Some people that I have never met commented on mine and gave advise to improve it and talked about how good it was. It was just a short guide on how to survive your first night in the game. I don’t really go to other blogs but sometimes I like to look at what they wrote for some inspiration. I comment people if they comment me. I don’t believe I ever read an article from the Flipboard magazine. Maybe I have? I did not post my URL on the form. This challenge was fun because it can show others what your compassion is and how you can show off what you know. I learned that some of the things I have never heard about were spoken in others post and it showed me how much they love these things. It was very interesting. I also used the sidebar as well. Thank you! Bye!!!

  20. Dear Mrs. W,
    Than you for making suck an effort this year to help us learn more. My favorite challenge is week 6 I really enjoyed finding quotes online and putting it on my blog. Unfortunately I did not leave lots of posts on other people blogs but I did get a couple of them out there. I did not read the challenge Flipboard magazine yet. I have not been putting my URL on the weekly Google form. +. The most important thing I have learned Is that how Edublogs can effect your writing in detail and size. I have learned how to heck out other peoples’. Thank you again for your hard work.

    Aloha,
    Ridge

  21. Hi, Miss W!
    I hope you’re having a good day so far! I would like to say that the most interesting challenge was “Free” because we got to really be open and free to write anything we want (as long as it’s appropriate). I wasn’t really so social with others that much, so I really didn’t visit people’s blogs that often. For the other challenge that said something about “going to the Flipboard magazine and chose someone there to comment on”, I have been there once, but I didn’t go back to it after that. I do give my URL, but not on a weekly form. I may have a minus on the “Free” challenge, I think it was a good thing to say your mind, but maybe give a topic sometimes because I had no idea what to write about. I think the most important thing about the challenge I learned is to be yourself and stay positive. I know I’m not so social, but this time I took it up a notch and I looked at the challenge sidebar to find posts with classmates and other students.
    I hope you enjoyed this year blogging!
    Cya!
    ~Natalie
    http://hmsnatalie.edublogs.org/

  22. Aloha Ms. W,

    Thank you so much for creating such an awesome challenge this year! The most interesting challenge for me was SBC Week Six: Quotes. I loved getting to make my own quotes, it was so much fun! I didn’t leave a bunch of comments, but I left a handful. I did not read the Flipboard Magazine for this SBC. I think I left my post on one of your forms, but I can’t quite remember. Something that I don’t like about the challenge is the same topics. I think you should keep the fun ones but rotate them between the October SBC and May SBC. I learned that I have to manage my time well because if I leave it to the last day to do it then I get stressed. I did use the sidebar a lot to find other blogs. Thank you so much for an awesome challenge! Mahalo!

    Mahalo,
    hmstaylor

  23. Hi Ms.W,
    I really enjoyed a lot about this year’s challenges. The most interesting challenge Week 3 because we had to do a lot of fun activities. I don’t really visit a lot of blogs but I do sometimes try to leave comments. I’m not reading a lot of the Flipboard magazine but I think I will start visiting and reading it soon. I didn’t leave a URL weekly on google form. A plus about the challenges is that they change but are still the same amount of fun. The most important thing I learned doing these is how creative and open-minded people are. I didn’t use the challenge sidebar to find posts but I might in the future to get more comments and etc. Thank you for making these awesome challenges.
    Sincerely,
    Tani

  24. Hi Ms. W

    I think that the Student Blogging Challenge of 2018 was a very interesting way to express oneself. I thought the challenges were kinda dull but overall it was a cool experience. My favorite challenge was the Avatar Family post. (https://itiswhatitis4444.blogspot.com/2018/03/my-avatar-family.html)

    It was a very unique post about family members and I love how you could get an insight into the homes of others. I’m a very socially awkward person and if I don’t know you, I probably won’t acknowledge you but it was different with the Student Blogging Challenge. I could actually met new people and read their posts and comments. It was really cool and I’d love to do it again.
    (https://itiswhatitis4444.blogspot.com/)

  25. My most interesting Challenge was the making quotes. I visited many blogs frequently but I hardly ever commented on the blogs. I left my URL on every challenge except the 6th challenge. The most important thing that I learned was that to learn and experience things is, that you have to communicate with others and listen. I definitely learned new things about myself with this. Thank You for making this challenge fun and experienced for us!

  26. Yes thank you very much my most favorite challenge was the running challenge one i loved it because you have to go off a video and the one we did was off of friends it was suppppperrr funny! I honestly suggest watching it its very funny i really liked it though because i love running and running can inspire peopls to do amazing things!.

  27. Hi Ms. W,

    Thank you for all the wonderful challenges! I think the most interesting challenge for me was Week 8 because it was interesting to see what other people have on their blogs. I visited other people’s blogs a lot, but I rarely left comments. I have read the flipboard magazine, and I thought it was well done. I thought the challenges were great, and I don’t think they should change. The most important things I learned from the challenges was how to improve my writing skills. I also did use the challenge sidebar to find other students’ posts. It helped with some of the challenges.

  28. Hi Ms. W,

    Thank you for making an amazing Student Blogging Challenge this year. The most interesting challenge for me was the SBC Week 9: My Best Work. I liked that it was something different and unexpected. I didn’t really visit other blogs and commented, but when I did, I got a flood of comments. I don’t visit the Flipboard Magazine a lot, but I do just to read the posts. I never went to your post and did the Google Form. A plus about the challenge is that it helps me connect with my overseas friends. The minus is that I’m getting tired of doing the same thing for every year. The most important thing that I learned is that you have to leave your blog link in a comment, so the blog person can connect with you. I don’t know what the challenge sidebar is, but I’ll figure it out. Again, thank you for making a fun SBC.

    Sincerely,
    Sarah

  29. Hey Ms. W,
    The thing I most enjoyed about the Blogging Challenge is that you give us choices. For example every week you give us a couple activities to choose from. The most interesting Blogging Challenge was the one where we got to quote people. I liked it because we got to see what amazing things our blogs can do.
    I do not read the flipboard magazine. I did not leave my url in the google form. A plus about the challenge is that you get to see other work, minus sometime I forget to check this blog, an interesting part is that there are a variety of activities.
    The most important thing I have learned is that post and work can always be better. I also get to see others work to help improve mine. Yes I do use the side bar to see others posts. It is Laos really cool to see how many classes participate in the Challenge.

  30. Hi Ms. W,

    I have really enjoyed this year’s Student Blogging Challenge! The most interesting challenge was Week 8 because we were comment on other peoples’ blogs. It allowed us to see more blogs from around the world. I don’t visit other blogs too often, but I really enjoy when I do. I visit blogs only about once a week. I have also read some articles from the Flipboard magazine. I didn’t leave a URL on the form. A plus about the challenges is that they are really fun to do! They all bring out emotion from the author whenever they write a post. The most important thing that I learned while doing this challenge is that it is good to comment on other people’s blogs. That can help let other people see your blog as well. I did use the challenge sidebar. It came in handy for some of the challenges. Thank you!

  31. Hi Ms W,

    Thanks for organizing such a great challenge. I really enjoyed the entire challenge. The most interesting challenge for me was writing a poem based on a picture for the image week. It really set my creative juices flowing. And, the most important lesson I learned was to treat the readers on my blog as royalty. I had to tailor my posts to entertain them without losing my originality.

    I completed the audit for my blog. I’d really appreciate learning your opinion and recommendations for improvement.
    http://rajyashoril.edublogs.org/2018/05/08/audit-of-my-blog-march-may-2018/

    Regards
    Rajyashori

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *